David Bowie Dies: Hollywood Reacts

Posted on by Celeb

David Bowie, legendary musician and artist, died Sunday following an 18-month battle with cancer. He was 69.

A rep for the British singer said in a statement to The Hollywood Reporter, “David Bowie died peacefully today surrounded by his family after a courageous 18-month battle with cancer. While many of you will share in this loss, we ask that you respect the family’s privacy during their time of grief.”

Members of Hollywood took to social media to shared their condolences for the beloved singer.

Read the heartfelt Instagram and Twitter posts below.

Paul on @DavidBowieReal https://t.co/KVxmjBdYT1 pic.twitter.com/aNJi3BjAuv

— Paul McCartney (@PaulMcCartney) January 11, 2016

David Bowie was one of my most important inspirations, so fearless, so creative, he gave us magic for a lifetime.

— KANYE WEST (@kanyewest) January 11, 2016

I pray for his friends and family.

— KANYE WEST (@kanyewest) January 11, 2016

Very sorry and sad to say it’s true. I’ll be offline for a while. Love to all. pic.twitter.com/Kh2fq3tf9m

— Duncan Jones (@ManMadeMoon) January 11, 2016

I just lost a hero. RIP David Bowie.

— Ricky Gervais (@rickygervais) January 11, 2016

“Time may change me. But you can’t trace time.” Gosh. David Bowie. One of the greats. Thank you. pic.twitter.com/dJgnDoi1Ua

— Ava DuVernay (@AVAETC) January 11, 2016

goodbye beautiful. https://t.co/p3BSVXNk4n

— DANIEL GILLIES (@danieljgillies) January 11, 2016

Hoping this news about #DavidBowie isn’t true

— Travis Barker (@travisbarker) January 11, 2016

Omg RIP David Bowie 🙁

— Trevor Moran (@TrevorMoran) January 11, 2016

deeply sad to hear about david bowie / his work means more to me than I can express. what incredible things he did that last forever

— jackantonoff (@jackantonoff) January 11, 2016

RIP. There will only ever be 1 David Bowie. We love you. pic.twitter.com/P9KfRmj7yZ

— Victoria Justice (@VictoriaJustice) January 11, 2016

RIP #DavidBowie My father introduced me to his music. I’m jealous of and excited for those yet to discover his brilliance. An Inspiration.

— Barry Sloane (@BarrySloane) January 11, 2016

Such shocking, awful news. RIP David Bowie.

— Piers Morgan (@piersmorgan) January 11, 2016

Rest in Peace David Bowie. Legends never die.

— Tommy Chong (@tommychong) January 11, 2016

Legendary Artist David Bowie Dies at 69 https://t.co/Vy2R3AQeCt via @thr

— Tom Green (@tomgreenlive) January 11, 2016

You were my all time. You were the greatest. We’ll miss you more than you’ll ever know. #DavidBowie We’re all Aladdin Sane

— Will Arnett™ (@arnettwill) January 11, 2016

David Bowie has been my musical north star my entire life. This hurts even more for people close to me. He will NEVER be surpassed, never.

— Kat Dennings (@OfficialKat) January 11, 2016

Find it hard to believe David Bowie has died. What an incredible life

— Anderson Cooper (@andersoncooper) January 11, 2016

RIP David Bowie 🙁 this was taken last night at my gig.. He was such an icon.. There is no other… https://t.co/vJH2J43FQQ

— Ruby Rose (@RubyRose) January 11, 2016

He never seemed of this earth. Now he’s left it. He bent rules, gender, genres, and our minds. RIP David Bowie. One. Of. A. Kind.

— josh groban (@joshgroban) January 11, 2016

Oh God, rest in peace the genius that was David Bowie.

— bob saget (@bobsaget) January 11, 2016

I grew up listening to and watching the pop genius David Bowie. He was a master of re-invention, who kept getting it right. A huge loss.

— David Cameron (@David_Cameron) January 11, 2016

Oh my God. RIP David Bowie. Too soon. #LetsDance

— Stacy London (@stacylondon) January 11, 2016

B O W I E F O R E V E R https://t.co/U9xsipMDNy

— ғred dυrѕт (@freddurst) January 11, 2016

I was fortunate enough to meet him one time. He was charming & brilliant RT @IamSuz: RIP #DavidBowie

— Kathy Griffin (@kathygriffin) January 11, 2016

Please could every radio station around the globe just play David Bowie music today – I think the world owes him that.

— Eddie Izzard (@eddieizzard) January 11, 2016

Just hearing about #DavidBowie! My condolences to his family and love ones! Your music will remain with this always!

— La Toya Jackson (@latoyajackson) January 11, 2016

RIP David Bowie, my love to Iman. He was a legend in music , fashion and a true inspira… https://t.co/yEUoyvTxvI pic.twitter.com/rHdvphFeGj

— Nina Garcia (@ninagarcia) January 11, 2016

People always asked me what actor I wanted to work with the most, and I’d always say David Bowie. Sad I’ll never get that chance. RIP

— Joe Manganiello (@JoeManganiello) January 11, 2016

Deeply saddened to hear of David Bowie’s passing. What an artist, an inspiration. I’d like to think the lights shone bright for him tonight

— Sophia Bush (@SophiaBush) January 11, 2016

So sad.. #DavidBowie was & will always be ART that lives on forever.. Fearless & unapologetic.. #RIPDavidBowie pic.twitter.com/iWyrSNl8f0

— Wilmer Valderrama (@WValderrama) January 11, 2016

RIP to a true legend. David Bowie pic.twitter.com/hAfuRb67nv

— Randy Jackson (@YO_RANDYJACKSON) January 11, 2016

Deeply saddened. We’ve lost one of the greatest artists that’s ever lived. My love for all you’ve created is immeasurable. RIP David Bowie.

— Logan Lerman (@LoganLerman) January 11, 2016

Love and Prayers to @The_Real_IMAN and the family of #DavidBowie! Soooooo sorry to hear about the passing of another icon.

— Michelle Williams (@RealMichelleW) January 11, 2016

NO NO NO! Not David Bowie! No! Hero, kind, funny, awesome, groundbreaking legend. No! Not David Bowie! No!

— Pauley Perrette (@PauleyP) January 11, 2016

So sad to hear about the death of #DavidBowie. A music icon and inspiration to so many. Rest in peace David, you will be missed #RIP

— Adrienne Maloof (@AdrienneMaloof) January 11, 2016

Never imagined a world without him. He has ascended into the cosmos from whence he came. Farewell, David Bowie

— Elijah Wood (@elijahwood) January 11, 2016

RIP David Bowie pic.twitter.com/eMOu3P2S2w

— Crystal Hefner (@crystalhefner) January 11, 2016

Rip Father of all us freaks. Sad sad day. Love always Legendary singer David Bowie dies at 69 https://t.co/ezRx7NVhSC # via HuffPostEnt

— Mark Ruffalo (@MarkRuffalo) January 11, 2016

Rest in peace, David. pic.twitter.com/9Kv9yM9igh

— Foo Fighters (@foofighters) January 11, 2016

David Bowie, you will be sorely missed. Bowie’s “Changes” and the Ziggy story songs were a major influence for me. pic.twitter.com/N1nkD9h82W

— Gene Simmons (@genesimmons) January 11, 2016

Im Devastated! This great Artist changed my life! First concert i ever saw in Detroit! R.IP. ❤️ #rebelheart pic.twitter.com/hGfxI967Bw

— Madonna (@Madonna) January 11, 2016
 

Dieter Kosslick, director of the Berlin International Film Festival, said: “David Bowie was a fantastic musician and avant-garde artist, who expressed his creativity in many disciplines. His work could be seen at the Berlinale in the documentary film Lou Reed: Rock and Roll Heart (Panorama 1988), Scott Walker – 30th Century Man (Panorama 2007) and Let’s Dance: Bowie Down Under (Generation 2015), as well as in the feature film Mr. Rice’s Secret (Generation 2000).”

About the Author

Leave A Response

You must be logged in to post a comment.